Why I Eat Fruits, Vegetables, Nuts and Seeds

Health Authorities Recommend Fruit, Vegetables, Nuts, Seeds


Here are excerpts about what is considered a “healthy diet” from various authorities.

Center for Science in the Public Interest: “A diet based more on plant-based foods than meats and dairy can lead to extra years of healthy living.” vegetables-21707_960_720

American Heart Association: “Cut back on foods high in dietary cholesterol. Choose foods like vegetables, fruits, whole-grain products, and fat-free or low-fat dairy products most often.”

World Health Organization: “Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: cutting down on salt, sugar and fat; eating more fruit, vegetables, nuts and grains; and substituting unsaturated vegetable oils for saturated animal fats.”

American Cancer Society: “In the majority of population studies, greater consumption of vegetables and fruits has been linked to a lower risk of lung, oral, esophageal, stomach and colon cancer.”

carrot-juice-1623079_960_720National Institute of Health: “Compared with the many people who consume a dietary pattern with only small amounts of fruits and vegetables, those who eat more generous amounts as part of a healthful diet are likely to have reduced risk of chronic diseases, including stroke and perhaps other cardiovascular diseases, type 2 diabetes, and cancers in certain sites (oral cavity and pharynx, larynx, lung, esophagus, stomach, and colon-rectum)…. may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease.”

Harvard Center for Cancer Prevention: “Eat a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. The more plant-based foods you get, the better. Minimize red meat.”berries

Genesis 1:29. “See, I have given thee every herb that yields seed which is on the face of the earth. And every tree whose fruit yields seeds, to you it shall be for food!

(Extract from Top Secrets of Health by Sipiwe Mashingaidze)

If Health Authorities Agree Then We Listen

If health authorities agree on vegetables, fruits, nuts and seeds, it is wise for us to follow their advice. I have followed their advice since 2008 when I was 46 years old, and I healed my body that way. Before listening to the health authorities, I suffered from indigestion, constipation, flatulence, bad breath, frequent burning urine, vaginal thrush, chronic tiredness, swollen feet, increased weight, and skin breakouts.legumes

I looked for solutions because I remembered too well how I grew up healthy. I wanted my lean body again, because I did not gain weight even when I was pregnant. I wanted the clear skin that I had even as a teenager. I wanted the energy that I used to have as a young mother of 3 children, when I used to work full time, study at home and still had time to look after my family. I found it all when I switched my diet to fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds. All the symptoms disappeared. The weight melted away. Now I feel perfect. When I eat I have no pain afterwards. And best of all, I managed to avoid chronic diseases.

Each time I tell people that I no longer eat meat and dairy, they raise the issue of protein. There is this general mis-understanding that protein is only found in animal products.

I tell people that I grew up eating meat on special occasions only like Christmas, Easter, when we had visitors or when there was a funeral. On any other day I was raised on carbohydrates, vegetables, nuts, beans and wild fruits. Yet I grew up so healthy that I never needed to see a doctor or to go to the clinic for anything. And I grew up so strong and healthy that I could walk and run 15 kilometers to school every day when I was in primary school.

Essential Amino Acids

The body synthesizes 16 amino acids from the food that we eat. The body cannot synthesize 8 amino acids. Those 8 are called Essential Amino Acids because they are needed in our diet so that the body can use them. All forms of meats and dairy products and eggs provide these essential amino acids.

Protein is the building block of every living thing, and amino acids are the building blocks of protein. Each type of food offers differing types and quantities of amino acids. Therefore animal products are not the only sources of essential amino acids. Legumes, nuts and seeds also provide high levels of essential amino acids. Fruits and vegetables offer less, but still they have the essential amino acids.

If you are on a vegetarian and vegan diet, you will want to include nuts, seeds and all types of beans in your diet just to make sure you have sufficient essential amino acids.

It is a myth that people should eat animal products for protein. In fact it is serious propaganda by the producers of milk, chicken, pork, bacon, lamb, beef and other forms meat. Advertising is good for them because it makes people buy their products. But that advertising is not necessarily helpful for us because we are seriously mis-informed.

Leave a Reply

